News, Reviews, and Past Events

Editorial Reviews

"Her connections between social conditions, disease, and survival results is more than just another family memoir of surviving Nazi death camps . . . It probes the roots of resilience, considers hope, kindness, and gratitude in the face of suffering, and weaves these themes into an inspirational family memoir . . .

"Another big difference . . .  is that Dr. Stone reviews past experiences, present-day choices, and the influences that shape personalities and perspectives on how to live life . . .Resilience draws important connections between events and their generational influence.

"While Resilience is highly recommended for any Jewish history collection strong in autobiographies of Holocaust experience, it would be a shame to limit its audience to this group alone. It holds invaluable lessons for those interested in family dynamics, the legacy of survival, adaptation and change, and how to ultimately make the world a gentler, more peaceful place."

"Resilience acts as a reminder of how dangerous it is for any community to allow the rights of others to be dented little by little because of racism and prejudice...

Stone's own words encapsulate the value of the book, especially in our troubled times: 'My determination to complete this project has been fueled by the rising divisiveness, 'othering,' and fascism that currently envelops our country and Europe. I wanted this story to serve as one more warning. It is my hope that if enough of us speak up, speak out, tell the truth about the world history, we will somehow stem the tide of growing hatred."

The Lancet Infectious Diseases

"Dr. Judy Stone, the daughter of survivors and, with this book, the voice for both the survivors of a large, extended Jewish-Hungarian family and their memories of those who perished, connects the past with the present in an inspired and chilling way. . . . Dr. Stone tells their stories, which include their various relationships, in an accessible, colorful style. We get to know them. . . . It’s all here, the result of committed passion lifting the heavy weight of assumed responsibility."

“Reading at times like a film script, the memoir includes some gripping narratives that poignantly illustrate true bravery, hope and resilience..."

Norm Goldman, Book Pleasures

News

The Lancet Infectious Diseases, a premiere medical journal, published a thoughtful, thorough review of Resilience on October 1, 2019. I am honored and thrilled.

Nature Research Microbiology had a kind review by Dr. Madhukar Pai, "An ID doctor remembers the past and fights for social justice." Dr. Pai concluded:

As I read the book, I remembered the recent article by Dr Stanley Goldfarb in the WSJ, where he expressed concern that medical schools today are more concerned about social justice than treating illness. I am glad that people like Dr Judy Stone are there, to show us the value of physicians who combine medicine, science, and social justice. Such physicians are rare, and need to be treasured. Especially today, as we deal with the rising wave of nationalism, intolerance and hatred. In these troubled times, we owe it to ourselves to remember the past, and fight, collectively, for peace, tolerance and social justice.

Women Writers, Women's Books published an interview with me September 18, 2019 on how the book came to be, the impact of the Holocaust on children, and implications for current events. Hope you'll check it out!

"How a trade war could turn deadly." September 19, 2019. The Washington Post published my letter to the editor on how a trade war with China could take us back to the pre-antibiotic era. Untreatable infections had a profound impact on my family back in Hungary pre-WW2 and has shaped my perspective on current events.

Baltimore Jewish Times posted an interview with me about writing Resilience in their Nov. 6th issue. Carolyn Conte surprised me with some of her thought-provoking and more intimate questions.

Past Events

2020:

 

April 28, 2020, 7 pm Frostburg University - a Virtual commemoration
Resilience and Resistance: Family Memories of the Holocaust and Their Relevance Today

 

April 20, 2020 Keynote speaker for the Yom HaShoah commemoration for Temple Emanu-el in Providence, RI

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(The commemoration was via Zoom: permalink  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R_ASqXKmf3g&t=499s )

 

February 12, 2020 Book talk, Cumberland Women’s Civic Club, 7 pm

January 21-7, interview with Amanda Mangan, Allegany Radio

https://soundcloud.com/amanda-mangan/auschwitz-and-beyond-kindness-as-resistance-for-pht

January 27, 6 am rebroadcast “Top of Mind with Julie Rose,” (SiriusXM 143). You can also listen to the BYU interview here. 

My interview with Julie was like chatting with a friend over a cup of tea. She has a remarkable ability to put one at ease and was very caring and thoughtful.

January 27, Cumberland, Maryland

9 - 11 am Allegany College of Maryland

Speaking to Dr. McMahon's Sociology classes: Book talk and current events.

2:05 pm Interview with Rita Rich on WNAV Annapolis' streaming at 1430wnav.com We will discuss parallels between 1930s Germany and now (bonus clip on coronavirus!)

Allegany College Zimmer Theater 6:30 pm

AUSCHWITZ AND BEYOND: KINDNESS AS RESISTANCE

The Allegany College Peace Studies Club and the Allegany County Women’s Action Coalition are cosponsoring a program in commemoration of the liberation of Auschwitz on January 27, 6:30-8 pm in Zimmer Auditorium at ACM. It is called

While the focus is on the 75th anniversary of the liberation, it will also question, "What have we learned since then?" and “How do we help one another treat all others and ourselves with kindness?”

The program will include a talk from Dr. Judy Stone about her family’s experiences in Hungary, the Holocaust, and coming to America. Dr. Stone’s mother and two aunts survived Auschwitz and her father and uncle survived Dachau. More than 80 other relatives were murdered in concentration camps. Yet much of her focus is on her family’s resilience, the kindnesses that helped save some of them, and their messages to us.

The talk will be followed by several short readings, musical selections, a candle lighting and traditional mourner’s prayer in memory of the 11 million killed in the Holocaust. There will then be a brief question and answer session.

Members of the community of all beliefs are invited to join in this remembrance and call for more kindness as we go forward.

January 25, interview with Kristi Slaughter, 10:15 - 10:45 on

“Super Talk Saturday Morning”   WFHG-AM (Bristol, VA), 92.9 FM

January 21, Holocaust education/Book talk for Allegany County High School Teachers

I had the opportunity to speak with 35 high school teachers about our family’s experiences during the Holocaust. My focus was on being an ally to people who are being attacked and how we can try to prevent this from happening again. I hope to be a resource for the county.

I was gratified by the response: The teachers "found it to be heart-wrenching, personal, emotional, and timely...Our community can only become better because of your willingness to share. "

 

2019:

November 12, 2019, LaVale, MD Library

November 5, “Happy & Healthy at Any Age,”— interview with Robin Pastore, WGCH-AM (Fairfield, CT)

November 4, VoiceAmerica, “Positive Living” (WWW)—interview with Patricia Raskin.

'October 28, Lancaster, PA Congregation Shaarai Shomayim  The Lancaster newspaper posted a very nice article here. The staff writer, Earle Cornelius, corrected me. I had said,

“One of my favorite pictures is of the sisters gossiping about (their other sister) Betty at my daughter’s bat mitzvah.” He noted, "What’s remarkable isn’t that they were gossiping, it’s that they were alive."

I also appreciated his emphasizing the value of immigrants in his review.

Lancaster online review of my talk at Shaarai Shomayim

 

 

Sanyi (Alex Stone's) story illustrates the value immigrants bring to this country, and their resilience.

October 27, Cumberland, MD  B’er Chayim We had a "books with bagels brunch" and a lively discussion afterwards. Nice seeing such interest in my home community.

October 17, Boothbay Harbor, ME

Congregational Church of Boothbay Harbor Despite the freak Nor'easter storm that took out power for many on the peninsula, we had an excellent turnout and great questions.

October 17, “Top of Mind with Julie Rose,” (SiriusXM 143). You can listen to the BYU interview here. 

Julie Rose
Host Julie Rose - Top of Mind, BYU radio

My interview with Julie was like chatting with a friend over a cup of tea. She has a remarkable ability to put one at ease and was very caring and thoughtful.

October 15, taping “Late Night Health” with Mark Alyn, KABC

October 14, taping “Conversations” interview with Dan Skinner  Kansas Public Radio (KPR)

October 10, Damariscotta, ME

Chats with Champions - at the Skidompha Library. Good turnout and enthusiastic reception.

October 7, BlogTalkRadio.com, “Conversations LIVE” with Cyrus Webb

October 5 Boothbay Harbor, ME  Book talk and signing at the Boothbay Region Memorial Library (located in the center of Boothbay Harbor)

Thanks for a great book launch, Library Director Joanna Breen!

October 5, 2019 "1550-Today," WNTN-AM interview with Paul Roberts.  Paul has a long standing interest in and concern about antisemitism which was gratifying. You can hear the entire interview here.

October 2, 2019 BizTalkRadio, “Frankie Boyer Show,” Live, national interview

October 2, 2019 taping “Issues Today,” Bob Gourley KTYM-AM

September 24, 2019 WKNY Warren in the Morning - interview with Warren Lawrence

September 26, 2019 WOCA-Ocala Interview with Larry Whitler and Robin MacBlane.

I appreciated their thoughtful questions and understanding of parallels between the 1930s-early 1940s and today. They kindly posted the audio on the WOCA Facebook and YouTube sites.